• Peter Bateman
    A company in the construction sector has been convicted and fined after a worker aged 14 fell through a skylight and was seriously injured.
    I can't recall a health & safety prosecution involving serious injury to such a young worker.
    How often do you come across workers aged under 15 in construction or other high-risk workplaces? Is this case as unusual as I hope it is?
  • Matthew Bennett
    Certainly not something I've seen very much, even when I was an Inspector. The agriculture sector was where I've most commonly come across young workers. Part 4 of the GRWM Regulations puts some pretty specific limitations on workplaces regarding young people.

As we (society) grapple with truancy, the purpose and function of (secondary) education and worker shortages, reconsidering the opportunities that are made available to young people will become increasingly questioned (I suspect).
  • Aaron Marshall

Gotta wonder what happens when the PCBU is under 15.
  • Alan Boswell
    The PCBU is the legal entity operating (conducting) a business or undertaking, not a person.
  • Aaron Marshall

From the definition in the Act:
    In this Act, unless the context otherwise requires, a person conducting a business or undertaking or PCBU—
    (a) means a person conducting a business or undertaking—
    (i) whether the person conducts a business or undertaking alone or with others; and
    (ii) whether or not the business or undertaking is conducted for profit or gain; but...
    (my emphasis)
    clause (a)(i) implies that a PCBU is an individual. (e.g. a sole trader)

This is not a hypothetical scenario - my son is under 15, and manufactures food products for sale as a sole trader, as he is not yet old enough to be a company director.