• Riki Brown
    Hello, I'm currently finishing my grad dip in OH&S through SIT. The course didn't have any papers focusing on the legal H&S framework, or the HSWA (and regulations) or past case law/precedents. This is all stuff I would like to learn more about.

Does anyone know of any courses of study that cover this?
  • Margaret
    The Massey Graduate Diploma does both OSH I 251.271 and OSH II 251.272
  • SafetylawyerNZ
    I did a Masters paper in health and safety law at the University of Melbourne. It was really good, although obviously focused on the Australian law rather than NZ (which is largely, but not entirely, the same).
  • Chris Peace
    Hi Riki
    Your question begs questions.
    Do you mean you are completing the diploma at undergraduate or postgraduate level?
    Do you want to study at undergraduate level or postgraduate level?
    Do you want to study face-to-face or online?
    Some thoughts.
    At Victoria University of Wellington one of our postgraduate students researched OHS decisions in the District Court over a 10-year period comparing prosecutions for traumatic injury with prosecutions for occupational health/disease. She added to a database of cases we have been developing and that needs completion. This was her research report for completion of part B of her Masters.
    Another student has completed part A of the Master's programme (= the postgraduate diploma) and, instead of carrying out a research report, is working on a Master's by thesis researching aspects of OHS law in NZ. He will also draw on the now-expanded database.
    A year ago we started exploring an option for a postgraduate paper to be developed jointly with the Law School for lawyers, managers and OHS practitioners to be run as a “summer school”. However, the project must wait until we have the staff, funding, and demand. Does this sound like what you want?
    Happy to talk on the phone (0274713723) or by Zoom
    Chris