• Peter Beaver
    I’m looking for some advice and thoughts please about my plan to change career into Health & Safety. Specifically, I’m very interested in:
    • Does this career change sound workable???
    • Would the ideal start be an admin heavy role in a large company, and then do some part-time study while working?

Background
    • I have approximately ten years’ experience in market research, mostly qualitative research about consumer goods and services and government services
    • In 2015 I completed a sociology PhD in patient safety. Then I worked in the School of Medicine (SOM) as a research fellow for a couple of years
    • I did qualitative market research before my PhD, and I returned to it after working in the SOM because I could not make any progress in a career in hospital safety (there are very few academic and operational roles)

About me – skills and interests
    • As an experienced qualitative researcher I’m good at facilitating individual and group discussions, asking questions, listening, and understanding how people think and feel about almost anything
    • I’m passionate about safety. My PhD opened the lid on this fascinating – and challenging – topic.
    Previously I did not have much respect for safety!
    • I’m interested in safety as a socio-cultural-structural process. It’s not only about individuals, tools and technologies, it’s also about organisations, regulation and compliance, production pressures, and cultural norms and assumptions.

Why change career?
    • I’ve been doing research about the pandemic, and the health risks of repeat SARS-CoV-2 infection. I am not willing to risk my future wellbeing running unmasked 2.5 hour focus group discussions in stuffy and poorly ventilated group facilities. I don’t want to discuss or debate this here, but I presume the question why this change now needs an answer.

I'm considering other options also, but safety is a strong contender.
  • Andrew