• Peter Bateman
    To acknowledge Asbestos Awareness Week, here is a story summarising the NZDAA's recently released major report surveying the asbestos landscape and making recommendations. The story appeared in this week's edition of our Safeguard Update newsletter.
    Attachment
    The state of asbestos (85K)
  • Stuart Keer-Keer
    We often find that trades people are of the perception if they are doing renovations all they have to do is to take samples of things they think contain asbestos. Asbestos surveys, asbestos management plans...yeah right. They think that if they incur the cost of doing this it puts them at a disadvantage with their competitors that don't do it.
  • Te Roopu Marutau
    Kia ora Whanau,
    I currently work in the Asbestos industry as a Health and Safety Manager, the business I work for is a family owned SME employing around 15 staff. Having a dedicated HS role is not common and prior to my starting relied on the Boss's interpretation of the ACoP. I can say we're in a good position now with ISO45001 and systems that exceed requirements.
    Agree we need an Industry forum to share learnings, strategy and implement best practice, I would be happy to get involved and it might inspire the regulator to step to the plate. Poor practice I see from trades, other removalists and especially DIYers is staggering... killing themselves and they don't even care.
    Wayne Kohi
  • MattD2
    Yet New Zealand remains content to try to manage this huge quantity of asbestos in situ, lacking the ambition to seek to remove it from the built environmentThe State of Asbestos - Safeguard Article
    This goes hand-in-hand with @Stuart Keer-Keer's comment below
    They think that if they incur the cost of doing this it puts them at a disadvantage with their competitors that don't do it.Stuart Keer-Keer