• Lee Bird
    Hi Team,

A bit of background first:

Last week I was asked to help a client with a serious harm injury involving a 17 year old apprentice with serious burns to his left arm and side, when I asked the boss "roughly what happened?" he replied shakily "He only opened the oxygen bottle and it exploded!"

I'm a fitter by trade with 20 years in various industries so straight off the top of my head I thought the boy has done something he shouldn't have, grease on the hand, improper installation, leaking bottle something obvious surely.

I was then shown a video clip found by the employers father, which opened my eyes and took me completely by surprise (links further down)

Further investigation is confirming the cause as: ADIABATIC COMPRESSION in the Oxygen regulator unit.

Never heard of it? Neither had I, however its more common than you might think not only this, without very simple controls in place has the ability to happen in many of the Oxygen regulators sold off the shelf in any part of the country by reputable suppliers, and unbeknownst to the consumer.

So here we go:

Some Oxygen bottle regulator units have aluminium in the valve body, some in the medical industry for weight purposes however many are sold off the shelf by reputable welding suppliers for cost reasons.

The better quality regulators available are solid brass. Remember one thing here, my client has never walked into any shop and asked for the cheapest price on his gear, this was sold straight off the shelf as a first and typically only option, most frontline staff are blissfully unaware of this risk and naturally assume the lower the cost, the better they look and the more business they get, not silly at all.

The difference? Aluminium is a flammable metal, its ignition temperature is much easier to achieve than other metals able to be used in the units.
    How did this "catch" on fire (ignite)?: A better explanation than I could provide is here: